Trouble character creating try these writing tools


Open BookIn my reading I happen to come across an idea that gave me a way to build out my evil MC further and wanted to share it. I am currently working on the first chapter in my novel at this time and even though I had gotten through development of building this character I still need the boost on where issues will go. By doing this it will actually help me move forward and create those who work under him. I feel that once this is complete I can then move forward with writing. So with the above being said this is the process I am going through.

I have worked through using Scrivener and obtained the MC villain’s name so it meets the requirements. The next step I performed is a character interview. I have a listing of questions which I follow that allow me to build the character’s personality. I obtained these questions quite some time ago and have customized them one step further so they work for my genre and the specific detail needed of my character. The third step taken is to complete a visual site of what this character looks like. Is this a person, creature, etc. I have a program that will allow me to build a small portfolio view of how this person looks in my mind, their face, how deep their eyes appear, how aged their facial features are (or not) and so on. Once I have that visual I then began to feel more closer to knowing this person and aware of his or her surroundings. Many times I would go back to the interview and edit my comments or provide additions.

Here is a list of software I use with the links on how to obtain it:

For writing I am using Scrivener; to create the visual image of my characters I am using something called Face Gen Modeller. The product I am using to create the character vision can be used for free or it can be purchased. There are online sites I have visited to obtain the correct type hair for my character. The two choice places I have gone at this time are Taaz.com a second option I visit is Blue Cactus because they do provide virtual hair styles for men and women. When I get the view I am seeking I just copy that photo then place it into Scrivener underneath the character’s bio so I always have something to look at. Seeing a visual gives me more ideas as I am writing especially when it comes to creation of a character portfolio.

I will provide the character interview which I use in another article since it is two-pages long. I’m happy to share items from my writing playground that can help others. Enjoy and have fun character creating!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer's Haven

Leave a Reply

